top of page
  • Writer's pictureSailor Mat Club

Sailors Finish Regular Season With 3 Champions at NICL Tournament

Updated: Feb 6, 2023

Snow was not an issue this weekend, and the Sailors finished up the final competitions of the year before districts. The NICL Conference tournament was cancelled last weekend do to the threat of inclement weather, with no reschedule planned. There was some chatter through the conference that every team had Saturday the 4th as an open date, with the exception of Wapsi Valley who had qualified for State Duals. So a group of NICL schools put a plan into motion to host a make-up tournament. Although not officially called the NICL Conference tournament, and although it was a few teams short for various reasons. The Sailors would battle with four other NICL school in what would be referred to as the “AGWSR NICL Mini Meet”

The Sailors would have eight competitors enter the field and would crown three champions. Max Magayna and Carson Hartz both pinned their way through the tournament, with six combined first period falls. Gavin Reed was hot on their heels with two pins and a tech fall to round out his day all three wrestlers would take first place at their weight class.

Four Sailors finished the tournament in second place. Mason Burr would pin his way into a finals matchup with Treven Delagardelle of Jesup. Burr would drop this match but could potentially get a shot at a rematch next week at districts. Henry Erie turned in what could be considered his best performance of the season, losing a close match 4-2 in the finals. Henry had to go for a big move late in the match and hit a lateral drop for the takedown but was unable to secure back points before time expired. Connor Knudtson avenged a loss from earlier in the season with a first period fall over Tate Miller of AGWSR. Connor would fall in the finals to Wil Textor of Dike. Mason Knipp would square off with 2A #1 ranked Nick Reinicke of Dike New Hartford. Reinicke has been ranked #1 ever since the Battle of Waterloo where Mason defeated the former #1 ranked wrestler from Osage. Mason was not able to repeat his feat of knocking off a #1 as he would drop this matchup. Francisco Mendoza Diaz also turned in a third place performance, finishing just behind the #1 ranked wrestlers in 1A and 2A and earning his third varsity win.

The regular season is now over for the Columbus wrestlers. Focus will now shift this week towards Districts and the individual matchups that need to be prepared for. Districts will be held February 11th at the Cyclone Center in Denver.

113- Francisco Mendoza Diaz

L- Fall 0:42 to Jace Hedeman

L- Fall 0:24 to Ayden Bergman

W- Fall 0:52 over Noah Niedert

3rd place

126- Mason Burr

W- Fall 0:56 over Mays Weber

W- Fall 3:12 over Colton Foast

L- Fall 3:26 to Treven Delagardelle

2nd Place

132- Gavin Reed

W- Fall 3:28 over Tyce Larson

W- Fall 5:32 over Jake Reicks

W- Tech Fall 16-1 over Noah Clikeman

1st place

170- Max Magayna

W- Fall 0:25 over Jay Paterson

W- Fall 0:22 over Ayden Gonzalez

W- Fall 0:58 over Cayden Buskohl

1st place

182- Carson Hartz

W- Fall 0:38 over Hunter Anderson

W- Fall 0:26 over Jared Granzow

W- Fall 0:30 over JD Sadler

W- Fall 1:15 over Zach Adelmund

1st place

195- Henry Erie

W- Fall 1:43 over Drew Munson

W- Maj Dec 15-3 over Lane Girsch

W- Dec- 9-4 over Clayton Van Loh

L- Dec 4-2 to Eli Brandt

2nd place

220- Mason Knipp

W- Fall 4:21 over Aiden Heitland

W- Maj 9-0 over Skyler Blad

L- Fall 3:41 to Nick Reinicke

2nd place

285- Connor Knudtson

W- Fall 1:11 over Tate Miller

L- Fall 5:16 to Wil Textor

2nd place

323 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page